Friday, 11 January 2013

Blue Mountains

The Blue Mountains is a range in New South Wales, Australia. It borders on Sydney Metropolitan Area.

Jamison Valley

Today the Mountains is a one of 865 national parks in New South Wales. Now the Blue Mountains area includes the local government areas of the City of Blue Mountains, the City of Hawkesbury, the City of Lithgow and Oberon.

The Blue Mountains are a dissected plateau carved in sandstone bedrock. They are now a series of ridge lines separated by gorges up to 760 metres (2,490 ft) deep.

Three Sisters

The highest point in the Blue Mountains, as it is now defined, is an unnamed point with an elevation of 1,189 m (3,901 ft) seven kilometres north-east of Lithgow. However, the highest point in the broader region once considered to be the Blue Mountains is Mount Bindo, elevation 1,362 m.

Panorama of the Blue Mountains

Now Blue Mountains National Park, one of the most well known parks in Australia, is part of the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage Area.

Find holiday information on the Blue Mountains World Heritage Area: bushwalks, mountain bike trails, climbing, canyoning, abseiling and more!

Have a nice day!