Saturday, 1 February 2014

Space Shuttle Columbia

The Space Shuttle Columbia disaster occurred on February 1, 2003, when Columbia disintegrated over Texas and Louisiana as it reentered Earth's atmosphere, killing all seven crew members.

Official crew photo from mission STS-107 on the Space Shuttle Columbia

It was Columbia's 28th mission.

In 2004, President George W. Bush conferred posthumous Congressional Space Medals of Honor to all 14 astronauts lost in the Challenger and Columbia accidents.